FAA Issues Type Certificates To UAS

FAA announced that it has issued restricted category type certificates to a pair of unmanned aircraft systems (UAS), a milestone that the agency said will lead to the first approved commercial UAS operations later this summer

top story photoThe agency said that issuing the type certificates is an important step toward its goal of integrating UAS into the nation’s airspace.

The newly certified UAS — Insitu’s Scan Eagle X200 and AeroVironment’s PUMA —are “small” UAS weighing under 55 pounds. Each is about 4 ½ feet long, with wingspans of 10 and 9 feet, respectively.

The major advantage of having type-certificated UAS models available is that they can be used commercially, FAA said. The Scan Eagle and PUMA received restricted category type certificates that permit aerial surveillance. Until now, obtaining an experimental airworthiness certificate, which specifically excludes commercial operations, was the only way the private sector could operate UAS in the nation’s airspace. Previous military acceptance of the Scan Eagle and PUMA UAS designs allowed FAA to issue the restricted category type certificates.

Read More

Source: aviationnews.net


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.